NYX Lip Review: Take Two

Somehow one of us deleted the original NYX review that I posted last week, so I went ahead and rewrote it. If you read the original review, feel free to skip this one.

20140812-120742-43662906.jpg

Last week, I ventured out to Target and was thrilled when I was able to find NYX products. I have wanted to try them for awhile, especially the butter glosses and lipsticks, but the Target I usually go to doesn’t carry the brand. I had three impatient children with me, so I literally just grabbed a few lipsticks and glosses without paying much attention to colors.

20140812-121015-43815190.jpg

First up, NYX Matte Lipstick in Sweet Pink. I actually wasn’t aware that NYX made a matte lipstick. I am always on the lookout for a good one and this one didn’t disappoint. The color is pretty bold but very wearable, and I love the formula. A lot if matte lipsticks tend to feel very dry once applied, which makes me want to put a gloss overtop, defeating the entire purpose of a matte lip. This one felt creamy though. It did get drier as I wore it and the wear wasn’t the longest by any means, but for $5.99 I can’t complain.

20140812-121755-44275501.jpg

Next up, NYX Butter Lipstick in Little Susie and Cotton Candy. Butter Lipstick is meant to be a hydrating, long lasting lip color. I wouldn’t say that it is particularly spectacular in either of those two areas, but it is a creamy formula that is well worth the $5.99 price tag.

Unfortunately, I did strike out on color with the Cotton Candy. It looked like a nude as far as the packaging was concerned, but in reality it is a really light pink that washes me out and feathers really badly. Little Susie on the other hand, is more if a pink berry color and suits me very well. It is a little too pigmented for my every day use but I will wear it a lot when I am working.

20140812-122515-44715199.jpg

Lastly, the NYX Butter Gloss in Strawberry Parfait and Peaches and Cream. These are what I was most excited to try and I feel like I have seen them popping up everywhere. Something about the packaging really appeals to me, so when I saw them on other blog and Instagram, I knew I needed to try some.

The formula goes on smoother than a lot of glosses, with a minute amount of tackiness. The tube says “Butter me up with divine gloss that feels like it melts on lips”. I love that!

The two colors I got were both great. Strawberry Parfait is another great berry color but it is subtle enough as a gloss that I could wear it as an every day lip color. Peaches and Cream is a more opaque coral color that I could also wear daily. These babies are only $4.99 and I definitely hope to pick up many more colors!

20140812-123145-45105345.jpg

Swatches without flash. L-R, NYX Matte Lipstick in Sweet Pink, NYX butter Lipstick in Little Susie and Cotton Candy, NYX Butter Gloss in Strawberry Parfait and Peaches and Cream

20140812-123340-45220977.jpg

Swatches with flash. L-R NYX Matte Lipstick in Sweet Pink, NYX Butter Lipstick in Little Susie and Cotton Candy, NYX Butter Lipgloss in Strawberry Parfait and Peaches and Cream.

Overall, I was very impressed with all three products. You really cannot beat the price. Have you tried any NYX products? What should I try next?

-s

Leave a Reply

