August Birchbox Review!

20140813-131837-47917539.jpg

Yesterday I finally got my August Birchbox! It actually didn’t take that long to arrive, but seeing everyone get theirs early made me restless for my own to come! I really wanted it last week so that I wouldn’t have the opportunity to peek at my box before it hit my doorstep, but it wasn’t meant to be.

20140813-132022-48022905.jpg

For those of you who don’t know, Birchbox is a monthly subscription service. For $10 a month, you get a box of 4-6 samples (typically deluxe sized) shipped to your door. They are chosen based on a beauty profile quiz that you complete on your account. The best part is that you can rack up points (both by referring people to Birchbox as well as writing reviews on the samples you receive) that can be applied to purchases on the Birchbox site, so it is a great deal!

Anyway, on to my Birchbox!

20140813-132530-48330998.jpg

First up, a very generous sample of Acure Organic’s Brightening Facial Scrub. This is a paraben free cleanser and exfoliater in one. Truth be told, I already have two facial scrubs in my shower but I couldn’t wait to try this one out! It is dark in color, almost black, and has a good amount of exfoliation. I will need to use it a few more times before I decide if it’s love, but the full size is affordable at $14.99. I calculated the sample to be worth $3.75.

20140813-132850-48530530.jpg

Next up, LAQA & Co Sheer Lip Lube Pencil, retail price $18 for full size. This is hands down my favorite product in this month’s box. It looks intimidating because it is so purple, but it goes on almost sheer with just a hint of color. It has a minty smell too, which I really like. Lip crayons are my thing, and this one is as good as any of the others I’ve tried. It is a generous size too. This sample is worth $9.69.

20140813-133203-48723093.jpg

Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow, $27 for full size. I have only swatched this on my hand so far, but the color was perfect and the formula is creamy and easy to blend. I will definitely use this. Sample has a value of $4.74.

20140813-133355-48835640.jpg

Supergoop! Forever Young Hand Cream with Broad Spectrum Sunscreen SPF 40. Full size retails for $29.50. This was my second Birchbox and my second time getting Supergoop! I don’t mind, because so far their products have been great. This is a rich hand cream with an herbal smell that protects against UVA and UVB rays. It’s a nice bonus that this lotion protects against sun damage, but it’s not something I typically look for in a hand cream. I liked this well enough but I doubt it will ever take the place of LUSH’s Helping Hands! And honestly, the sample was so small I will probably only get a few uses from it. I valued the sample at $.49

20140813-133805-49085779.jpg

Last up, Atelier Cologne’s Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolute. The full sizes bottle of this on the Birchbox app is $170. I would have to be insanely in love with it to spend that much on a fragrance. And even then I doubt I could justify it. Lucky for me, this was just ok. It is a cologne, and thus had a musky, manly scent. There was still the bright pop of orange in there, so it was refreshing and the manliness didn’t bother me at all. I would still wear it myself and will use the rest of the sample. I personally am not the biggest fan of fragrance samples though, so this was the one item I wasn’t that thrilled about getting.

Overall, I was super impressed with this month’s Birchbox. The estimated value I calculated came up to $20.37, which is double what I paid. I also received a bonus offer for a free Marcelle Lux Gloss Cream with any purchase of a Marcelle product.

What did you get in your Birchbox this
month? Any hits or misses?

-s

2 thoughts on “August Birchbox Review!

  1. Ah I do love LAQA lip crayons! I got one in a previous box. It seems Birchbox kind of rotates their samples around to us. Either way the points system makes me happy even when I don’t get the best items in my box. Great review thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

