Sephora’s Give Me Some Lip Review

20140820-121822-44302570.jpg

Give Me Some Lip is a limited edition set that Sephora has for sale currently. It retails for $25, with a purported value of $90, and it contains five deluxe lip samples and one full size gloss all in pink or nude shades.

20140820-122224-44544201.jpg

These types of sets are made for me. I love all things lipstick, lipgloss, etc but I can be somewhat fickle. I love having a huge variety, which means I rarely finish a full size product.

20140820-122407-44647531.jpg

The full size product included is Smashbox Be Legendary lipgloss in Pout. This product alone retails for $20. I had read a few reviews prior to buying this box and the main complaint was the color of this gloss. I agree, the color is horrendous. Sephora calls it a pale pink blue. I call it a shade above white. It is unwearable alone, so I will use it when I need some gloss over a lipstick or stain. What a disappointment, but at least I had a heads up going in.

20140820-123130-45090266.jpg

Next up is Bite High Pigment Lip Pencil in Meritage. This deluxe sample has a value of $13.33. Hands down, this is my favorite product in the box. It doesn’t really fit in with the nude and pink theme of the box but I don’t care. This is a very wearable brick read color that can be worn over gloss for a sheer look or layered on to achieve a richer color. I love lip pencils in general and the formula of this one is nice and smooth. I would buy this again in a heartbeat!

20140820-123621-45381369.jpg

Buxom Full On Lip Cream in White Russian. Value is $8.87. “A sheer, shimmering, hydrating gloss with a no-tingle plumping effect”. I tried this one on without reading anything about it first and I immediately knew it was a plumper. It tingles. Not in a bad, painful way but it tingles. It is a beautiful, glossy nude that could be worn casually and also dressed up with a smoky eye.

Marc Jacobs Lust for Lacquer in Kissability. Value of $3.50. This is a shimmery, champagne pink that is infused with antioxidants and essential oils. It also has a plumping effect and feels similar to the Buxom Lip Cream. It’s a great gloss but for $28 a pop I would probably not spring for one.

20140820-124507-45907552.jpg

Urban Decay Revolution lipstick in Naked. Value of $7.33. This is a really nice nudish pink lipstick. It applies creamy and smooth. I will get a lot of use from this color. I probably would have preferred UD’s Melted in here instead because I am dying to try it but this is a great lipstick.

NARS Lipgloss in Orgasm. Value is $17.33. Orgasm is a signature color from NARS. It is a gorgeous peachy pink with champagne shimmer. I have been a longtime fan of this brand so I was happy to have it included, not to mention at such a generous size!

20140820-125327-46407768.jpg

Overall, I am thrilled with this kit. It has a huge value. I calculated the value at $70.36, and that was going by Sephora’s prices as listed on their site, so it appears the $90 value they ascribe is a little inflated. Even if I were to deduct the value of the Smashbox gloss, the other items would be worth $50. Not bad at all! This isn’t the first lip box that Sephora has released and hopefully it won’t be the last because I would definitely buy different versions!

Have you bought any of the Give Me Some Lip boxes from Sephora? Share your thoughts!

-s

One thought on “Sephora’s Give Me Some Lip Review

Leave a Reply

