September 2014 ipsy Glam Bag

20140917-140418-50658438.jpg

For those of you new to ipsy, it is a subscription service where, for $10 a month, you get a glam bag specially curated for you based on your beauty profile.

I already knew what I was getting in my bag this month, so no surprises here. It’s always fun getting mail though!

20140917-140958-50998017.jpg

Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet brush. This retails for $6.99 on the Crown Brush website.

I wasn’t especially excited to see this in my bag but I could definitely use a new brush, so I’m not disappointed either. It seems like a nice enough brush and I like that it is dual sided!

20140917-141404-51244522.jpg

NYX Hot Singles eyeshadow in Dressed to Kill Fashion Victim. This is a full size product and retails for $4.50 on the NYX site.

I actually really like this color. It is a mix between gunmetal gray and taupe, and looks like it has a fair amount of shimmer. Unfortunately, it has very very little color payoff. Even using a lot of it only built up the tiniest bit of color. I am not sure if it is just an issue with this shade, as I haven’t used an NYX shadow before. Pretty disappointing.

20140917-141901-51541003.jpg

Pacifica Natural Water-Proof Eyeliner in Fringe. From what I can tell, this sample would have a value of $4.09.

The spoiler for this month’s ipsy bag was that everyone would receive either a Pacifica eyeliner or nail polish. I really need new polish, so I had hoped for that but I got the eyeliner instead. The color I received is Fringe, which is a dark brown. I actually think I’ll get a lot of use from it plus I don’t have an eyeliner in this color, so my disappointment has abated. Had it turned out to be black, I would be singing a different tune!

20140917-142844-52124045.jpg

Cailyn Art Touch Tinted Lip Gloss in Basic Instinct. This is a full size product and retails on the Cailyn website for $19.

I have heard good things about this gloss, so I was excited to try it. The color I received is more neutral, so I think I will get a lot of use from it. The formula is pretty thick without being goopy or tacky and I really like the applicator too. It is a cross between a doe foot applicator and a spatula.

20140917-143301-52381839.jpg

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Hair Mask. This sample has a value of $4.95.

This mask purports to improve the elasticity of the hair and reduce breakage as well as increase shine, with ingredients like avocado, rose hip and argan oil. I like that it is applied in the shower after you’ve washed your hair. Just leave it on 3-5 minutes and then rinse off. Very easy. I plan on taking it out of town with me this weekend to give it a shot so hopefully I like it!

This is my second month receiving ipsy. This and Birchbox are the only two subscription boxes it receive and while I have enjoyed the products in my ipsy bags, and the value is definitely there (this bag in particular has a calculated value of $39.53), the products themselves seem a little cheap. I am trying to decide at this point if I want to keep ipsy or go with a different subscription box. Maybe BoxyCharm?

It’s a tough call, because for only $10 a month, you can’t beat the value, even though ipsy’s point system is nowhere near as rewarding as Birchbox’s. I think ipsy could use a little but of rebranding. I think their product card is worthless and cheapens the glam bag and this month’s actual bag also looked cheap to me.

I would love to hear your thoughts! Do you subscribe to ipsy? Any other subscription boxes you would recommend?

-s

Leave a Reply

