November Birchbox Review

20141118-120920-43760723.jpg

Sigh. I always wait with such impatience to unbox my monthly Birchbox on the 10th of every month. It is one of the first things I do when I wake up! This month, I was met with such disappointment. This was my least my favorite box to date and for once I actually liked my ipsy bag better!

I went through my beauty profile to see where I had gone wrong but I had said I would prefer no perfume samples (this is the second month in a row I have gotten one!!) and I would prefer no shower gel. I tweaked my preferences a little but to hopefully avoid another month like this one.

For those of you that are new to Birchbox, it is a monthly subscription service. For $10 a month, you get a box full of deluxe size beauty products. You can review these products on the BB site to receive BB points, which can be redeemed in their store for product. The point system is amazing and the reason I would never chance my subscription.

20141118-121259-43979857.jpg

Joie Folle de Joie Eau de parfum, value of sample $2.06.

I am super picky about perfumes, so I prefer not to get them in my subscription boxes. When I told a coworker I was getting this in my November box, she told me she bought the full size after getting this in a box. She said she gets complimented on it all the time and she won’t even tell her best friend what it is because he friend loves the scent so much. So I was like ok, maybe I will like this after all. Unfortunately, I didn’t see the appeal when I wore it. It smelled like any department store perfume to me. Even my husband agreed it was nothing special. Oh well, now I don’t need to shell out $98 for the full size!!

20141118-121653-44213673.jpg

Not Soap, Radio Joy Inducing Body Wash, sample value $1.76.

This is a lemon scented shower gel with a nice muskiness that elevates it and makes it more dynamic. It still can’t compete with my LUSH shower gels though, especially because citrus is not my thing. I find most citrus scents to be boring and less complex.

20141118-121942-44382771.jpg

Bain de Terre Argan Oil and Passion Flower Color Therapy Styling Oil, sample value $2.06.

I told Birchbox that I color treat my hair and that I love haircare products, so I can’t fault them for including this. I got the Davines hair oil in my September box though and fell in love with it, so I really don’t need another hair oil. Plus it smells like a generic shampoo you would get at the drugstore. The scent alone ruined it for me.

20141118-122228-44548682.jpg

Eslor Firming Collagen Day Cream, sample value $17.

I just changed my profile to exclude anti aging products. I am open to anti aging products but the branding and scent of this just screams old lady to me, so if those are the types of products I will get I would prefer to stay away from anti aging products.

20141118-122506-44706711.jpg

20141118-122536-44736435.jpg

The Balm Cosmetics Cindy-Lou Manizer, sample value $.30.

I have wanted to try The Balm Cosmetics for awhile so this was the one thing in my box that I was actually excited about. The packaging is just adorable! The sample is very small, so it is difficult to use with my makeup brush. It doesn’t apply easily because of that, so I wish the sample were wider to allow for easier application.

20141118-122821-44901252.jpg

Dang Coconut Chips, sample value $1.47.

This was a bonus item. I wasn’t excited about it, especially when I saw some lucky people got chocolate! These were surprisingly good though. Even my two year old approved, and she is picky! They are very expensive, but if I saw a box for less at Costco I would definitely buy them!

Overall, I was disappointed in this month’s Birchbox. I feel that my beauty profile wasn’t really followed. I am sick of the perfume samples especially! I would never quit Birchbox because of their amazing point system, but I am hoping next month is better!

What did you think if your November Birchbox?

-s

One thought on “November Birchbox Review

Leave a comment