Favorite Products of 2014!

As 2014 comes to a close, I wanted to take a minute to reflect on some of my favorite products from the year. Some of them are tried and true favorites, while others I discovered this year. There are quite a few Korean products on the list this year, thanks to my discovery of Memebox. I also found a few gems through Birchbox too!

IMG_20141231_152023

1. Skinfood Cacao Hand Balm.

I discovered this balm through the Chocolate Mania memebox and I have another scent on the way right now from Tester Korea. The consistency of this product is so hydrating without being greasy.  It doesn’t sink in as quickly as most hand creams, which makes it the ideal bedtime moisturizer.

2. Lush Cosmetics African Paradise Body Conditioner.

Just one of many Lush products on the list this year. I am so bad at body lotion. Sounds silly, I know, but I just am. I never remember to out it on, so moisturizing in the shower is a must for me. This self preserving option was released earlier this year. I used it for the first time when I was in the hospital, the day after I gave birth to my youngest daughter. Whenever I smell it now, I think of her and that time and so the scent has become very special for me. I realize that is somewhat creepy!

3. Dr Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips.

This was a Birchbox sample turned HG product. It is 100% lanolin and so hydrating for lips. I use it before bed every night and I swear the next morning I can still feel the effects. You can also buy this at Sephora and Anthropologie.

4. Dreams Come True Bounce Cheese Cream.

Another Memebox discovery, this came from the Wine & Cheese box. I use it before bed, under my sleeping pack and I love the level of moisture (thick but not cloying) and how quickly it soaks in. Plus it has a stringy texture that is really cool!

5. Lush Cosmetics Ambrosia Shaving Cream.

I love Lush. There is not a single product in their shop that I haven’t tried.  This product is one I put off for awhile though. Until they released D’Fluff over the summer, the only other shaving creams sold in stores were Dirty and Prince. Both of those are too thick for my preferences. I finally got around to trying Ambrosia and everything changed. My itchy, bumpy legs no longer made me long for a good scratching. It is a miracle cream!

6. Lush Cosmetics Sex Bomb Bath Bomb.

Truth is, I just picked a random Lush bomb out of my stash. I don’t have a favorite scent really, but I use a bath bomb almost every night. Not to worry, I also throw in bubble bars and melts too, but bombs are my favorite. I love the fizz and the softness of them and in the years since I have discovered Lush, I have tried other brands, but nothing can compare to the original.

7. Etude House Proof 10 Eye Primer.

Every woman needs a good eye primer. I actually hadn’t been using one for awhile, so I was happy to receive this in the Vagabond Youth memebox. I now wear it religiously anytime I use eye makeup!

8. Davines Absolute Beautifying Potion Oil.

Before discovering this product, I didn’t use a hair oil as part of my daily routine. I received a sample of this in my September Birchbox and instantly fell in love with the scent. It has a muskiness that appeals to me. I braid my hair before bed every night to keep it out of the way and beforehand I always rub some of this oil into the ends to keep them healthy.

9. Lush Cosmetics Ultrabland Cleanser.

I can’t imagine a time where this doesn’t appear on my favorites list. I prefer oil based cleansers in general because I dislike that tight, “clean” feeling that you get from soap based cleansers. Ultrabland has been a staple of mine for years and I love how gentle and soothing it is.

10. Shara Shara CC Cream in Natural Beige.

I am not one for a full face of heavy makeup. I prefer my base to be a lightweight BB or CC cream. This cream in particular I also discovered in the Vagabond Youth memebox (that was an amazing box) and I love how effortless it is while still giving me some coverage. I know cushions are now the rage in Korea, so  trying a cushion is one of my beauty resolutions for 2015.

Now that I have completed my list, I realize that I left a few items out. So honorable mentions go to Lush Cosmetics Full of Grace serum bar, Holika Holika Wine Therapy Sleeping mask and Boscia Luminizing Black Mask.

What were your beauty must haves this year?

-s

Leave a Reply

